SFWA Nebula awards

Novel: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon

Novella: “Fountain of Age” by Nancy Kress

Novelette: “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate” by Ted Chiang

Short Story: “Always” by Karen Joy Fowler

Script: Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo del Toro

Norton Award: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling.

Grand Master: Michael Moorcock

I note with wry amusement that SFWA seems to have survived despite one of its most notorious members sitting on the Nebula novel jury this year. Not that we had much to do, it being a bit of a lean year in science fiction and fantasy. Not a bad set of winners, although it’s ironic that SFWA should give Rowling an award for her worst book to date. But then, it’s probably the only YA title that most of the voters recognized.